Gender Roles.


Within the rock genre, male artists are a common feature. To see men in a rock magazine is a completely standard sight. Because the genre is quite a rough and extreme genre, it is normally stereotyped to be only consisting of men. With my model, I have decided to go against this stereotypical ideology. I will obviously be using a female for my model and there are reasons behind this. I didn’t want this to be the “stereotypical” rock magazine with it being strictly focused on men, I wanted there to be more to it and I wanted it to be different. I also went for the idea of this from knowing the genre is mainly a male dominated genre, if I put a female on the front I know that; if this magazine was to be put on sale; that this would increase sales due to it being appealing to males as well as females within the target audience.

Leave a Reply

