Progress Report

After all the research so far, I have had a few new ideas about what to do and what not to do with my production.

I still plan on making the sequence of Post-Apocalyptic genre, having a few ideas how the introduction sequence might play out, The idea of my introduction sequence goes like this:

  • Black screen, narration from protagonist character (or at least same (voice) actor), brief talk about how the apocalypse happened <audio: narrative with faint music in the background>
  • while narrative picks up, black and white clips of a busy city play
  • last of them turns from black and white to colour as the shot fades from a busy city to the protagonist walking down the same road, this time its empty.
  • still narrative, talks about how life is like after the apocalypse (having to scavenge and such), some actions also being shown (such as before mentioned: scavenging)
  • final line of narration is something about the worst part of life after the apocalypse being the other survivors
  • zoom to group of bandits with guns (nerf guns spray painted black) walking down the street, closing in on protagonist
  • action orientated music starts playing as the protagonist draws his weapon
  • fight scene follows (not decided on details)
  • fight ends with bandit leader holding the protagonist at gunpoint, with the protagonist’s weapon on the floor nearby
  • brief villain dialog from bandit leader
  • first person view from protagonist, looks at his weapon (also a gun), then proceeds to kick it up, turns it to the antagonist, screen cuts to black, then a gunshot sound plays, leaving the sequence at a cliff-hanger

I have the feeling this overview will change at some point during production, but this is the initial plan. I will try my best to create a good and compelling narrative and follow the advice I have given myself at the end of the textual analysis of student work. I also need to go and scout out locations for my production, so far I think I will head to a local ruin of a Elizabethan hall, the woods that are located in the centre of Corby as well as a few generally run-down parts of town.

these are my ideas so far, I expect much to change during production.

Leave a comment