Research into music

We have listened to some soundtracks and have decided which ones we will use in our trailer. In the prezi below, we have explained our thoughts about each song.

https://prezi.com/0el6ypccrlfn/research-into-music-and-organise-recording/#

Each of these songs had something about them that we thought would suit our trailer. The story that we’re telling is quite sad, containing death which really hits the main female character, who is playing the girlfriend.

First of all, we have chosen to use Banks – Someone new. The reason for this song is that it’s slow, guitar is being played and it will be parallel to the action happening on the scene – sad, upsetting moments. We might possibly use some slow motion when editing the footage, so this will go with the idea of the slow song. Also, the lyrics completely relate to the situation we’re trying to show. Even the title gives it away and suggests a break up and one of the people finding a new love. I have picked out lyrics from this song, that I think present the situation we’re trying to portray the most.

“Everything I do, I’m gonna think of you
Don’t know what else to do
You got me, you got me, baby
Everything I make, I only make for you
Baby, be patient for me
And please don’t fall in love with someone new
[…]

Oh, you say you hate me now, and you burn me with your words
Calling me a fool, saying that I’ve effed up everything”

At the beginning of the lyrics that I’ve quoted, the singer tries to portray the feelings towards a man. She says that everything she does, she does it for him and she doesn’t know what she will do without him. This relates to the situation we will be showing, especially that our characters are teenagers and this will be their first love, which is often the most powerful and never forgotten. We will use the part of the song where the singer sings “don’t fall in love with someone new” after the boyfriend has broken up with the girlfriend, and she’s already afraid that he has found someone else and that’s the reason for the breakup, therefore these lyrics are the most suitable and will help the audience to engage with this part of the trailer. Finally, the singer sings “you say you hate me now, you burn me with your words”. This is very suitable for the moment when the boyfriend is saying he doesn’t love the girlfriend anymore when breaking up with her. This breakup is out of the blue, therefore the girl is very surprised and shocked by this and his words are hurting her. I think this song will fit with these scene perfectly. I have looked at the break-up scene in The Notebook to get some ideas of what it should look like.

 The second song that we’ve chosen is the instrumental version of Hunter Hayes – Invisible. This song is calm but it has something cheerful about it so I believe that it will be suitable for the montage of the happy moments that the couple have been through which will be shown at the beginning of the trailer. In the instrumental, guitar and piano are played which boost the song up a little or calms it down. Also, Coldplay – Paradise could be used for the same purpose, as it’s also cheerful and creates excitement, being parallel to the action happening on the scene. I have found a montage from The Notebook so we can get an idea of what it looks like.

The instrumental from Man of Steel is calm, piano is being played and I think this would be suitable for sad or upsetting moments when slow motion is used.

As for The Script – If you ever come back, we might use the chorus of this song at the end of the trailer to leave the audience with a desire to go and buy or watch the whole film.

Leave a Reply

